PDA

View Full Version : First time shooting

sfd
01-04-2013, 07:39 PM
I've been talking about gun ownership and firing a gun for a few months but up to this point in my life, I've never actually handled a gun. I've been considering one for self defense in the house. Being that I am the only person besides my Dad who lives in NJ (everyone else is in PA), all the men in my family conceal carry. They are hunters/ex military, etc. Yet I never even touched a gun. Even with Army Captains in the family, huge hunters, and my Dad even shooting competitively as a teen, no one ever showed me a firearm. So I felt like I needed to take a proper course and see what I thought.

First off, it makes me nervous to think some people can simply walk into a store, buy a gun, and carry it around. I see NO issues with educated, mature, and properly trained civilians owning and carrying a weapon. What got me nervous was the few people who you could just tell were not understanding the basics of guns, ammo, and how the mechanics worked. Personally, I think anyone looking to carry a weapon should have to either take a course or be able to test out. Similar to driving really. I know some states do require this but I won't turn this thread into a political discussion. But there were some questionable people in my class that basic topics like what happens to hallow point shells compared to a regular bullet when it hits the target were hard for them to understand. Or why the glock would lock the slide in an open position after a clip was cleared.

Don/Pun has been super kind enough to answer every question I had via facebook/cell/text/whatever over the last couple of months so it was good to have the feedback from a non-relative who is skilled in shooting. Everyone should have someone to help get them started.