PDA

View Full Version : Remove the reply button



Harry
02-11-2012, 10:58 PM
under every post there is a reply button and a reply with quote button. when you scroll up to find the post you want to quote, you inadvertently hit reply, and you end up making a quoteless reply. there should only be one quote button under individual posts. one reply button at the bottom of the page. its a PITFA to go back and fix it if youre using something other than a computer.

zedron
02-11-2012, 11:06 PM
under every post there is a reply button and a reply with quote button. when you scroll up to find the post you want to quote, you inadvertently hit reply, and you end up making a quoteless reply. there should only be one quote button under individual posts. one reply button at the bottom of the page. its a PITFA to go back and fix it if youre using something other than a computer.

Yeah. I see what you mean. No need for a regular reply button with the quick reply option available. I'll look into it.

Punisher11
02-11-2012, 11:17 PM
seriously... thats like a felix old man problem LOL

jk

zedron
02-11-2012, 11:24 PM
seriously... thats like a felix old man problem LOL

jk

Doesnt look good so far. This might be put on the back burner till further notice.

Punisher11
02-11-2012, 11:44 PM
shit i forgot to quote harry :lulz:

Tony_YYZ
02-12-2012, 01:03 AM
under every post there is a reply button and a reply with quote button. when you scroll up to find the post you want to quote, you inadvertently hit reply, and you end up making a quoteless reply. there should only be one quote button under individual posts. one reply button at the bottom of the page. its a PITFA to go back and fix it if youre using something other than a computer.

Really? All the new forum software uses this setup. I find it convenient. It makes it so you don't have to scroll all the way to the bottom of the page to reply to a thread. You can just hit reply on any post and start typing. The reply with quote feature is an added bonus.

zedron
02-12-2012, 11:38 AM
You can also multi quote with the button to the right of the "reply with quote". Just click on the ones you want to multi quote and then hit the "Reply to Thread" at the bottom left and it will quote all the selected. It doesnt look as if the reply option will be removed any time soon anyways. It requires some extensive template modification.

Jake
02-12-2012, 11:43 AM
Not a high priority. Sorry, old man. Thanks for pointing it out

Harry
02-12-2012, 11:50 AM
thats sucks, i guess ill get used to it. more importantly, is there any way to get a "User CP" type button? is there one already there that i dont see?
im trying to manually check on new replies in subscribed threads but i cant always keep up and i miss a lot. that feature is awesome, but is it difficult as well to set up?

zedron
02-12-2012, 11:53 AM
Settings on top right by notifications.....?

Jake
02-12-2012, 12:02 PM
"New posts" top left will show all new posts and you can scroll through. That's 1 option

Harry
02-12-2012, 04:55 PM
"New posts" top left will show all new posts and you can scroll through. That's 1 option
yeah, that's what I've been using in it's place.


Settings on top right by notifications.....?

It's Settings. That seems to be it. It doesn't seem to be working however. I've been checking it ever since you mentioned it, it is exactly what I'm talking about, but it isn't updating my subscribed threads. It says there are no new posts in subscribed threads, even though there have been. I even stuck a "test" reply in a thread, once someone replied to it I checked "settings" and it still says no new posts in subscribed thread. I'm trying to see if there is a setting in there that activates it or something. It says folder is empty, which is weird. But yeah, that's the Usercp, or at least it does the same thing.

Double R
02-12-2012, 06:01 PM
I'll look into it, Harry.

Double R
02-12-2012, 06:02 PM
I subscribed to two threads and my posts to those threads showed up ????

Harry
02-12-2012, 09:23 PM
wtf...mine still says no new posts in subscribed threads. it must be be setting.

Double R
02-12-2012, 09:48 PM
Are you looking for some kind of notification?

Harry
02-12-2012, 11:07 PM
i cant tell if youre being serious or not lol, but ok, user cp is a function button you click and it lists all the threads that have been replied to that your are involved in. it only lists threads that have been replied to since you visited last. every forum site ive ever been on has had it at the exact same spot. i go there first, in fact its always what i bookmark in favorites.

we dont have one here. BUT, "settings" seems to be doing a similar thing, which is good enough, except it isnt working, for me at least. so im putting it up in suggestions, hopefully i can get it working.